• RSS

Penguins Scholarship Programs

Since 1992, the Pittsburgh Penguins have awarded over $100,000 in higher education scholarships to deserving Pittsburgh area high school seniors. The team has awarded 55 Continuing Education Scholarships and 20 Bob Johnson Memorial Scholarships to deserving high school seniors.

Each year, Penguins scholarship applications are available through the participating high schools and online at www.pittsburghpenguins.com. Students must have a grade-point average of 3.2 or better to qualify for a Penguins scholarship.

Inner-City Scholarship: 
In conjunction with Pittsburgh Public Schools, a $1,500 scholarship is awarded to Pittsburgh inner-city high school seniors each year on the basis of academic achievement, community service and participation in school activities.

Bob Johnson Memorial Scholarships: The $5,000 annual scholarship was established in memory of Bob Johnson, the Penguins late head coach who led the franchise to its first Stanley Cup Championship in 1991. Throughout his coaching career, Johnson helped thousands of high school, college and professional athletes become better people as well as outstanding students and athletes.

Co-sponsored by the Penguins Booster Club, the scholarship is awarded to a Western Pennsylvania high school senior for academic excellence, community service and for providing leadership, sportsmanship and a positive attitude as a member of their high school’s hockey program.
All-Time Winners

1992: Jon Yackmack (Armstrong Central)
1993: Charlie Blasko (Greensburg Salem)
1994: Ryan Smart (Meadville)
1995: John Cullen (Kiski) & Doug Swingle (Franklin Regional)
1996: Brett Huston (Bishop McCort)
1997: Colin Simithraaratchy (Greensburg)
1998: Mary Montgomery (Shadyside Academy)
1999: William Downey (Central Catholic)
2000: Jonathan Stehle (Butler Area) & Jordan Synkowski (Serra Catholic)
2001: Andrew Dealy (Taylor Allderdice) & Elliot Hirshon (State College)
2002: Jessica Wagoner (Shadyside Academy)
2003: Ryan Lindauere (Ambridge)
2004: Christian Nickerson (Meadville)
2005: No Winner due to NHL Work Stoppage
2006: Kevin Pawlos (Bishop Canevin)
2007: Christopher Behrer (Sewickley Academy)
2008: Morgan Nickerson (Meadville Area High School)
2009: Ryan LaDuke (Greater Latrobe High School)
2010: James Kline (Upper St. Clair High School)
2011: Jeffrey Clark (McDowell High School)


Penguins Alumni Association Scholarship: The Pittsburgh Penguins Alumni Association annually awards a scholarship worth $2,000 to a Western Pennsylvania high school senior who has demonstrated outstanding academic achievement, good citizenship, school and community involvement, and who has shown an intense love for the game of hockey personified by on-ice hustle, achievement beyond his or her talent level, leadership, sportsmanship and teamwork.
The Association encourages students to closely review the criteria and nomination forms included in this packet before determining whether to apply.  When applying, please distribute the appropriate forms to your school’s head hockey coach and academic advisor.

Penguins Alumni Association Scholarship application now available

All-Time Winners

2005: Craig Markovitz (Thomas Jefferson HS)
2006: Alexander Hilliker (Moon Area HS)
2007: Ryan Rivosecchi (Indiana Area HS)
2008: Chris Michalak (McDowell HS)
2009: Robert Maier (Penn-Trafford HS)
2010: Zach Feldman (Upper St. Clair HS)
2011: Zachary LaDuke (Greater Latrobe Senior HS)

School Contests

The Pittsburgh Penguins have an extensive community outreach program with an emphasis on youth and education. Since 2008, the Penguins added a new dimension to their community outreach program with promotions geared toward schools within Allegheny County and the City of Pittsburgh.

During the season and playoff race, the Penguins give local elementary, middle and intermediate schools an opportunity to win prizes benefiting their school when they enter art, essay or video contests.

The contests are a unique way to motivate students through an interest in hockey and foster closer ties within the Pittsburgh community.