• RSS

Wheeling Nailers
1315 Main Street
Wheeling, WV 26003
Phone: 1-877-NAIL-TIX

  City: Wheeling, WV
League: ECHL
Conference: Eastern Conference
Division: Atlantic
Founded: 1988
Home Arena: WestBanco Arena
Governor: Don Rigby
General Manager: Craig Bommer
Head Coach: Clark Donatelli
Asst. Coach: Alain Nasreddine

Pittsburgh Penguins, Montreal Canadiens (NHL)

Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins, Hamilton Bulldogs (AHL)

One of the original teams from the ECHL's inaugural season in 1988-89, the Carolina Thunderbirds, relocated to Wheeling for the 1992-93 season and has been a fixture in the city for 18 years.

The first four years in Wheeling, the team was known as the Wheeling Thunderbirds. In the summer of 1996 the team changed its name to the Wheeling Nailers. The 2011-12 season marked the 16th anniversary of the name change and the 21st year of professional hockey in Wheeling.

The team and city have enjoyed great success. Wheeling has won the Brabham Cup for best regular-season record twice and advanced to the finals in the postseason once.

Wheeling has had several high profile coaches in its history. Doug Sauter, who moved to Wheeling from Carolina with the team, has won more games than anyone in team history. Larry Kish and Tom McVie who had NHL experience before coming to Wheeling followed in the coaching ranks. Peter Laviolette began his coaching career in Wheeling and has since advanced to become a Stanley Cup winning head coach in the NHL. Alain Lemieux, brother of NHL great Mario Lemieux, and John Brophy, one of only two men with over 1,000 career wins as a professional coach, also stood behind the Wheeling bench.

Vadin Slivchenko was named Most Valuable Player in 1995. In 1996 the Rookie of the Year went to Wheeling’s Keli Corpse and Ray DiLauro was named Defenseman of the Year.

The Wheeling membership also prides itself on sending more players to the NHL than any other membership in league history. Some of those that have played in the ECHL and later the NHL are David Aebischer, Francis Bouillon, Martin Brochu, Andy Chiodo, Marc Lamothe, Marquis Mathieu, Darcy Verot, Terry Virtue and current Penguin Tomas Vokoun.

With a new lease between the Nailers and WesBanco Arena, professional hockey will remain in Wheeling for several years to come.