• RSS

Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins
670 North River St., Suite 210
Wilkes-Barre, PA 18705
Phone: (570)-208-PENS

City: Wilkes-Barre, PA
League: American Hockey League
Conference: Eastern Conference
Division: Atlantic Division
Founded: 1999
Home Arena: Mohegan Sun Arena at Casey Plaza
CEO/Governor: Jeff Barrett
General Manager: Jason Botterill
Head Coach: Jay Leach
Asst. Coach:
Media: Wilkes-Barre Times Leader
Scranton Times-Tribune
Citizens’ Voice
103.1 WILK Newsradio
Affiliates: Pittsburgh Penguins (NHL)
Wheeling Nailers (ECHL)
Joining the American Hockey League for its inaugural season in 1999-2000, the Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins have established themselves as one the most successful franchises in the league.

After posting a 23-43-9-5 record in its first season of play and missing the playoffs, Wilkes-Barre/Scranton enjoyed one of the biggest turnarounds in league history as the team made it to its first-ever Calder Cup Final appearance in 2001. Though they would fall to the Saint John Flames in six games, the Penguins would carry on a tradition of success both on and off the ice.

In total, Wilkes-Barre/Scranton has appeared in the Calder Cup Final three times and reached the playoffs in 14 out of 16 seasons, including 13 consecutive postseason berths - the longest active streak in the AHL and sixth-longest in league history.

The 1999-00 season saw the Penguins sellout 26 games their inaugural season. The following year Wilkes-Barre/Scranton set the league record by selling out the entire season (40-games) en route to a streak of 144 consecutive sellouts that still stands today as an AHL record.

The AHL-affiliate to the Pittsburgh Penguins since its inception, Wilkes-Barre/Scranton has helped develop former draft picks such as Marc-Andre Fleury, Brooks Orpik, Maxime Talbot, and Beau Bennett. Ten former Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins lifted the Stanley Cup when Pittsburgh defeated Detroit in seven games in 2009.

The Penguins have also seen many of their coaches rise up the ranks with Dan Bylsma and Todd Reirden manning the bench in Pittsburgh, Michel Therrien in Montreal, Todd Richards in Columbus and Mike Yeo in Minnesota.

The 2010-11 season marked one for the Wilkes-Barre/Scranton history books. Under the guidance of first-year head coach John Hynes, the Penguins went 58-21-0-1 to claim their first-ever Macgregor Kilpatrick Trophy as AHL regular-season champions. In the process, Hynes won the Louis A.R. Pieri Award as the AHL's Outstanding Coach, while the team set records for wins in a season (58), points in a season (117), and fewest losses in a season (21). Goaltender Brad Thiessen joined Dany Sabourin as the team's second recipient of the Aldege "Baz" Bastien Memorial Award.

Today, Mike Sullivan mans the bench for Wilkes-Barre/Scranton in his first head coaching gig since he was named coach of the Boston Bruins at age 35 in 2003-04. After years of tutelage under a Stanley Cup-winning coach in John Tortorella, Sullivan vows to bring speed, skill, and structure to the Penguins farm team while continuing its tradition of excellence.

Now in their 17th season of play, the Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins have amassed more wins (470) and points (1,002) than any other team in the league over the last 10 years.